PIER Journals
PhotonIcs and Electromagnetics Research Symposium, also known as Progress In Electromagnetics Research Symposium
Featured Plans

PIERS —— A global symposium committed to
advancing photonics and electromagnetics for the benefit of humanity.

Hot Topic Speakers

All speakers and talks in the hot topic session are BY INVITATION ONLY, and will be very selective on some hot/emerging topics or disruptive technologies. Each invited speaker will be given only 10 minutes to talk as a big picture talk or a highlight talk. An invited speaker in this section can also refer to his or her longer talk (if any) in PIERS.

List of date/time of hot topic talks.

* All Names of hot topic speakers are in order of accepted dates.
Prof. Lars Samuelson About the Speaker:
Lund University

Lars Samuelson is since 1988 Professor at Lund University, Sweden. He is a Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Physics) and of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. He is Fellow of the Institute of Physics (FInst) of the UK, Fellow of the American Physical Society, APS (Materials Physics), and Int. Fellow of the Japanese Society of Applied Physics, JSAP. In 2022 he was given the top award from the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the "Great Gold Medal".  His research is focused on nanoscale materials physics, with a special focus on epitaxial growth, optical properties and on potential applications in optoelectronics. Beside the academic research he also has strong engagements as Chief Scientists in high-tech companies such as Glo AB and Hexagem AB. Samuelson  has given >300 plenary/invited talks at international conferences and workshops.

Talk Title: To Be Decided
Organized by: Prof. Sailing He
Prof. F. Javier García de Abajo About the Speaker:
ICFO --- Institut de Ciències Fotòniques, The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology

Javier García de Abajo received his PhD from the University of the Basque Country (1993) and then visited Berkeley National Lab for three years. He was a Research Professor at the Spanish CSIC and in 2013 moved to ICFO-Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques (Barcelona) as an ICREA Research Professor and Group Leader. He is a Fellow of both the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America. García de Abajo has co-authored 400+ articles cited 57,000+ times with an h index of 115 (May 2023 google scholar data), including contributions on different aspects of surface science, nanophotonics, and electron microscope spectroscopies.

Organized by: Prof. Sailing He
Prof. Yuri S. Kivshar About the Speaker:
Australian National University

Yuri Kivshar received PhD degree in 1984 in Kharkov (Ukraine). After taking some positions in the US and Europe, he moved to Australia where he established Nonlinear Physics Center at the Australian National University. He is Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science since 2002, and also Fellow of Optica (former OSA), APS, SPIE, and IOP. He received many recognitions for his research including more recently 2022 Max Born Award (Optica).

Organized by: Prof. Sailing He
Prof. Che Ting Chan About the Speaker:
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

C.T. Chan received his PhD degree from the UC Berkeley in 1985. He is currently serving as the Associate Vice-President for Research & Development at HKUST. He is also concurrently the Daniel C K Yu Professor of Science, Chair Professor of Physics, and the Director of Research Office of HKUST. He has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Physical Society of Hong Kong and a member of the Hong Kong Academy of Sciences.

Talk Title: To Be Decided
Organized by: Prof. Sailing He

Contact us

Inquiry about paper submission, registration, and program schedule, please email to:
PIERS OFFICE: office@piers.org and/or piers@emacademy.org

Usually, inquiry to PIERS OFFICE will be replied within 1-2 working days. If you cannot get reply timely, please keep trying both emails, or change another email account to contact us to avoid the unpredictable email correspondence problem between us.